Search
+49 (0) 35433 - 72299
Saison wechseln

Cottbus (Chóśebuz)

Princely parks, medieval town walls and the finest Art Nouveau theatre in Europe characterise the cityscape of Cottbus.

After Potsdam, Cottbus is the second largest town in Brandenburg and it lies on the south-eastern limits of the Spreewald. It only takes a few minutes to reach the historical town centre by car or train. Like many towns in the Spreewald, the Sorbian/Wendish history of Cottbus has left its mark on the town and it characterises the cityscape and people's everyday lives.

Altmarkt Cottbus
Staatstheater Cottbus

Sights in Cottbus

An extended walk through the historical Old Town is thoroughly to be recommended in Cottbus, with its medieval gates, towers and its baroque town houses. In the process, visitors should also keep an eye out for the famous Cottbus stagecoach driver. He blows his post horn to perfection, looks great in his smart uniform, has his own monument in his own lifetime and can say this tongue-twister without stumbling: "Der Cottbuser Postkutscher putzt den Cottbuser Postkutschkasten." If you prefer not to explore the Old Town on your own, you can join a guided tour almost every Sunday at 10.00 a.m. including an architectural tour of Cottbus' State Theatre. The theatre still stages productions and is considered the finest Art Nouveau theatre in Europe.

Park & Schloss Branitz

An extended walk through the historical Old Town is thoroughly to be recommended in Cottbus, with its medieval gates, towers and its baroque town houses. In the process, visitors should also keep an eye out for the famous Cottbus stagecoach driver. He blows his post horn to perfection, looks great in his smart uniform, has his own monument in his own lifetime and can say this tongue-twister without stumbling: "Der Cottbuser Postkutscher putzt den Cottbuser Postkutschkasten." If you prefer not to explore the Old Town on your own, you can join a guided tour almost every Sunday at 10.00 a.m. including an architectural tour of Cottbus' State Theatre. The theatre still stages productions and is considered the finest Art Nouveau theatre in Europe.

The historical park railway will take you from the town centre to Cottbus' parks consisting of Branitzer Park, Tierpark and Spreeauenpark. Branitzer Park with its castle, moon mountains, water pyramids and Wolf Gorge, was commissioned by Prince Pückler and is home to his last resting place. Further artistically designed park landscapes such as Pückler Park in Bad Muskau or the East German Rose Garden in Forst are to be found just a few kilometres from Cottbus.

The museums in Cottbus represent far more than a rainy day alternative. Whether contemporary art (DKW Art Museum), aviation history of Lausitz (Airfield Museum Cottbus) or an impressive collection of historical pharmacies (Brandenburg Pharmacy Museum) - the museums of Cottbus promise excitement for children and adults.

Events

A visit to the opera, ballet, theatre or a concert in the Cottbus State Theatre is particularly to be recommended. But the piccolo Theatre for children and young people, the musical literary reviews in the TheaterNative C or the carefully restored, over 100 year-old Weltspiegel cinema complete the cultural offerings of Cottbus. The Cottbus Stadthalle is the largest hall in southern Brandenburg and many stars and starlets perform there. There are regular consumer fairs and markets in the Cottbus exhibition centre directly beside Spreeauenpark. Only a few steps away, football fans can get their money's worth in the Stadium of Friendship when FC Energie Cottbus has a home game.

Shopping

Logo Blechen Carree

Tourist Information Cottbus

Logo geprüfte Tourist Information

Stadthalle Cottbus
Berliner Platz 6, 03046 Cottbus
phone: +49 355 75420
cottbus-service@cmt-cottbus.de
www.cottbus-tourismus.de

Book online
powered by HRS Holidays
Spreewald bei Facebook

Suche
+49 (0) 35433 - 72299
Saison wechseln

Cottbus (Chóśebuz)

Fürstliche Parkanlagen, mittelalterliche Stadtmauern und das schönste Jugendstiltheater Europas prägen das Stadtbild von Cottbus.

Cottbus ist nach Potsdam die zweitgrößte Stadt Brandenburgs und liegt am südöstlichen Rand des Spreewalds. Mit dem Auto oder Zug sind es nur wenige Minuten bis ins historische Stadtzentrum. Wie viele Orte im Spreewald ist auch Cottbus von der sorbisch-wendischen Geschichte geprägt, die das Stadtbild und den Alltag der Menschen kennzeichnet.

Altmarkt in Cottbus
Staatstheater Cottbus

Sehenswürdigkeiten

In Cottbus empfiehlt sich ein ausgiebiger Stadtrundgang durch die historische Altstadt mit ihren mittelalterlichen Toren, Türmen und den barocken Bürgerhäusern. Dabei sollten Besucher Ausschau nach dem berühmten Cottbuser Postkutscher halten. Er bläst das Posthorn in Vollendung, sieht in seiner schmucken Uniform sehr gut aus, hat schon zu Lebzeiten sein eigenes Denkmal und kann diesen Spruch fehlerfrei aufsagen: „Der Cottbuser Postkutscher putzt den Cottbuser Postkutschkasten." Wer die Altstadt nicht allein erkunden möchte, der kann sich fast jeden Sonntag um 10.00 Uhr einem geführten Stadtrundgang inklusive Architekturführung durch das Staatstheater Cottbus anschließen. Das Theater wird aktiv bespielt und gilt als das schönste Jugendstiltheater Europas.

Park & Schloss Branitz

Von der Innenstadt fährt die historische Parkeisenbahn zu den Cottbuser Parkanlagen bestehend aus Branitzer Park, Tierpark und Spreeauenpark. Der Branitzer Park mit seinem Schloss, den Mondbergen, Wasserpyramiden und der Wolfsschlucht wurde vom Fürsten Pückler in Auftrag gegeben und beherbergt dessen letzte Ruhestätte. Weitere kunstvoll gestaltete Parklandschaften wie der Pückler-Park in Bad Muskau oder der Ostdeutsche Rosengarten in Forst befinden sich nur wenige Kilometer von Cottbus entfernt.

Weit mehr als eine Schlechtwettervariante sind die Museen der Stadt Cottbus. Ob zeitgenössische Kunst (Kunstmuseum DKW), Luftfahrtgeschichte der Lausitz (Flugplatzmuseum Cottbus) oder eine beeindruckende pharmaziehistorische Sammlung (Brandenburgisches Apothekenmuseum) – die Cottbuser Museen versprechen Spannung für Groß und Klein.

  • Historische Altstadt mit Spremberger Turm, Altmark und Klosterkirche
  • Cottbuser Postkutscher
  • Staatstheater Cottbus
  • Schloss & Park Branitz

Veranstaltungen

Besonders empfehlenswert ist ein Besuch von Oper, Ballett, Schauspiel oder Konzert im Staatstheater Cottbus. Aber auch das piccolo Theater für Kinder und Jugendliche, die musikalisch-literarischen Revuen in der TheaterNative C oder das behutsam restaurierte über 100-jährige Filmtheater Weltspiegel ergänzen das Kulturangebot von Cottbus. Die Stadthalle Cottbus als größtes Veranstaltungshaus Südbrandenburgs ist Auftrittsort vieler Stars und Sternchen. In der Messe Cottbus direkt am Spreeauenpark finden regelmäßig Verbraucherausstellungen und Märkte statt. Nur wenige Schritte entfernt kommen Fußballfans im Stadion der Freundschaft bei allen Heimspielen des FC Energie Cottbus auf ihre Kosten.

Shopping

Tourist Information Cottbus

Logo geprüfte Tourist Information

Stadthalle Cottbus
Berliner Platz 6, 03046 Cottbus
Tel. 0355 75420
cottbus-service@cmt-cottbus.de
www.cottbus-tourismus.de 
Unterkünfte in Cottbus suchen

Banner der Bio-Kolonieschänke
Banner Spreewaldresort, Juli
Banner vom Amt Burg zur LiteraTour
Online buchen
powered by HRS Holidays
Banner Spreewald Therme
Banner Tropical Islands
Banner Spreewelten Schwimmbad
Banner Slawenburg
Banner Spreewald Resort

Hotline zum Tourismusverband Spreewald

+49 (0) 35433 - 72299
Spreewald bei Facebook