Search
+49 (0) 35433 - 72299
Saison wechseln

Peitz (Picnjo)

The Ironworks and Fishery Museum reveals the history of the fortress town of Peitz and the long fishing tradition it enjoyed.

Who has not heard of the popular Peitz carp. Fish have been farmed in Peitz for centuries. Spread over an area of 1,000 hectares, the ponds of Peitz represent one of the largest connected pond complexes and a significant centre of the fishing industry.

Peitzer Teiche & Eisenhüttenwerk
Rathaus von Peitz

Sights & activities in Peitz

A visit to the Ironworks and Fishery Museum is an absolute must. Situated directly beside the Peitz ponds, it offers fascinating insights into the fishing tradition stretching back many years, former iron production and the industrial history of the town of Peitz. The history of the old fortress town of Peitz itself is also interesting. The fortress tower in the historical Old Town is not only the town's emblem but also the oldest construction in the town, and today it houses a multimedia exhibition on the history of the town. On a guided tour with the Prussian soldier, you can get to know the Old Town with its historical town hall, church and malt house bastion.

  • Ironworks and Fishery Museum
  • Ponds of Peitz
  • Historical town centre

Places to visit in the local area

One popular destination in the area surrounding Peitz is the adventure park of Teichland with a summer toboggan run, maze, crazy golf and much more. The local history museums in Jänschwalde, Drachhausen and Tauer tell the story of the traditions and customs of the Sorbs/Wends. There is a wealth of sand in the area surrounding Peitz to the east where the open-cast mines of Jänschwalde extend. Vantage points in the villages of Grötsch and Grießen offer a wide view of the immense landscape characterised by its surface mines. They can be comfortably reached by bike and offer a variety of routes.

  • Adventure park Teichland
  • Local history museums in Jänschwalde, Drachhausen & Tauer
  • Mines of Jänschwalde

Culture and Tourism office in Peitz

Markt 1
03185 Peitz
phone: +49 35601 8150
tourismus@peitz.de
www.stadt-peitz.de

Book online
powered by HRS Holidays
Spreewald bei Facebook

Suche
+49 (0) 35433 - 72299
Saison wechseln

Peitz (Picnjo)

Das Eisenhütten- und Fischereimuseum gibt Einblicke in die Geschichte der Festungsstadt Peitz und in die lange Tradition der Fischerei.

Wer kennt ihn nicht, den beliebten Peitzer Karpfen. Seit Jahrhunderten wird in Peitz Fischzucht betrieben. Mit einer Fläche von 1000 Hektar sind die Peitzer Teiche eines der größten zusammenhängenden Teichgebiete und ein bedeutendes Zentrum der Fischereiwirtschaft.

Peitzer Teiche & Eisenhüttenwerk
Rathaus von Peitz

Sehenswürdigkeiten & Aktivitäten in Peitz

Ein Muss ist der Besuch des Eisenhütten- und Fischereimuseums. Direkt an den Peitzer Teichen gelegen, gibt es spannende Einblicke in die langjährige Fischereitradition, die frühere Eisenproduktion und die Industriegeschichte der Stadt Peitz. Interessant ist auch die Geschichte der alten Festungsstadt Peitz. Der Festungsturm im historischen Altstadtkern ist nicht nur das Wahrzeichen sondern auch das älteste Bauwerk der Stadt und beherbergt heute eine multimediale Ausstellung zur Stadtgeschichte. Bei einer Stadtführung mit dem preußischen Soldaten können Sie die Altstadt mit dem historischen Rathaus, der Kirche und der Malzhausbastei kennenlernen.

Ausflugsziele in der Umgebung

Ein beliebtes Ausflugsziel im Peitzer Land ist der Erlebnispark Teichland mit Sommerrodelbahn, Irrgarten, Minigolfanlage und mehr. Über Tradition und Brauchtum der Sorben/Wenden erzählen die Heimatmuseen in Jänschwalde, Drachhausen und Tauer. Reichlich Sand gibt es im Osten des Peitzer Landes, wo sich der Tagebau Jänschwalde erstreckt. In den Dörfern Grötsch und Grießen geben Aussichtspunkte einen weitläufigen Blick über die gewaltige Tagebaulandschaft. Diese sind sehr gut mit dem Fahrrad zu erreichen und bieten abwechslungsreiche Routen.

  • Erlebnispark Teichland
  • Tagebau Jänschwalde
  • Heimatmuseen in Jänschwalde, Drachhausen & Tauer

Kultur- und Tourismusamt Peitz

Markt 1
03185 Peitz
Tel. 035601 8150
tourismus@peitz.de
www.stadt-peitz.de

Banner der Bio-Kolonieschänke
Banner zur Langen Nacht 2017 in Burg
Banner Spreewaldresort, Juli
Online buchen
powered by HRS Holidays
Banner Spreewald Therme
Banner Tropical Islands
Banner Spreewelten Schwimmbad
Banner Slawenburg
Banner Spreewald Resort

Spreewald bei Facebook